Official State Dog Breeds (with Pictures)

Did you know that 12 States in the U.S. have designated an official state dog breed? Maryland was the first state to name a state dog and did so in 1964. Many of these dogs were chosen because they originated from their state. Enjoy this list of the official state dog breeds!

Official State Dogs

#1 Maryland State Dog: Chesapeake Bay Retriever (1964)

In 1964, Maryland voted to have the Chesapeake Bay Retriever be its official state dog. This breed originated in the Chesapeake Bay area and was bred to retriever waterfowl.

#2 Pennsylvania: Great Dane (1965)

In 1965, Pennsylvania decided to name the Great Dane as its state dog. Although this dog did not originate from here, the Great Dane is a very noble dog. It is also the tallest dog breed.

#3 Virginia: American Foxhound (1966)

The American foxhound has been around Virginia since the early colonial days in the 1700s. Also, President George Washington is known as the father of these American scent dogs.

#4 Louisiana: Catahoula Leopard Dog (1979)

The Catahoula Leopard dog has its origins in America and is named after Catahoula Parish, Louisiana. It became the state dog of Louisiana in 1979. It has a rich hunting history with the Native Americans and was even loved by Theodore Roosevelt. Also, these dogs come in many different colors and are known for their leopard-like spots. It is also a rare dog breed.

#5 Massachusetts: Boston Terrier (1979)

Nicknamed the “American Gentleman,” the Boston Terrier originated in Boston in the late 1800s and was named the official state dog of Massachusetts in 1979.

#6 South Carolina: Boykin Spaniel (1985)

The Boykin Spaniel was discovered in South Carolina. It bred for hunting wild turkeys and ducks in the Wateree River Swamp.

#7 Wisconsin: American Water Spaniel (1985)

American Water Spaniel Wisconsin state dog

Photo Source

The American Water Spaniel was developed around the waters of Wisconsin (Great Lakes, Fox River, and Wolf River). They were bred to retrieve from boats. In 1985, Wisconsin made them its state dog.

#8 North Carolina: Plott Hound (1989)

Originally bred for hunting boar, this dog is not well-known in the U.S. (even though it is North Carolina’s state dog). In the mid-1700s, the Plott family emigrated from Germany to North Carolina. These hounds were brought with.

#9 Texas: Blue Lacy (2005)

The Blue Lacy originated in Texas as a working dog during the mid-19th century.  Texas honored the Blue Lacy as its state dog and called it “a True Texas Breed.”

#10 New Hampshire: Chinook (2009)

The Chinook is a rare sled dog breed that was originally bred in New Hampshire during the early 20th century! Because the dog breed was developed in New Hampshire, the Chinook became New Hampshire’s State dog.

#11 Alaskan Malamute (2010)

The Alaskan Malamute has its origins with the Iñupiat (Native Alaskan people). The malamute was bred as a utilitarian dog–working and hunting with its people. Later, it was used as a sled dog. In 2010, it was named Alaska’s state dog.

#12 Georgia: Adoptable Dog (2016)

Instead of pitting one breed against another, Georgia decided to name the “adoptable dog” as its official state dog. This was an effort to recognize the thousands of dogs that are up for adoption in Georgia’s animal shelters. What a great way to promote animal rescue and adoption!


Be A Dog Boss

Sign up to be part of our community & hear about the amazing work we're doing.

I will never give away, trade or sell your email address. You can unsubscribe at any time.

Sharing Helps Rescue Dogs
Share on Facebook9Tweet about this on TwitterPin on Pinterest0Share on Google+0Share on StumbleUpon0

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *